Blurbs are in for DISINTEGRATION—Out May 26, 2015

All of the BLURBS are in for Disintegration. Pre-order it at Amazon and/or add it to your “to-read” shelf at Goodreads. To say that I’m blown away by these amazing authors and their generous blurbs would be an understatement. I hope you enjoy the book. I think it’s some of my best work to date. And, it’s the first book of the Windy City Dark Mystery Series at Random House Alibi. The second book, The Breaker, was turned in last December. If this goes well there could be a whole series set in Chicago.

“A dark existential thriller of unexpected twists, featuring a drowning man determined to pull the rest of the world under with him. A stunning and vital piece of work.”
—Irvine Welsh, author of Trainspotting and Filth

“Sweet hot hell, Richard Thomas writes like a man possessed, a man on fire, a guy with a gun to his head. And you’ll read Disintegration like there’s a gun to yours, too. A twisted masterpiece.”
—Chuck Wendig, author of Blackbirds and Double Dead

“This novel is so hard-hitting it should come with its own ice-pack. Richard Thomas is the wild child of Raymond Chandler and Chuck Palahniuk, a neo-noirist who brings to life a gritty, shadow-soaked, bullet-pocked Chicago as the stage for this compulsively readable crime drama.”
—Benjamin Percy, author of The Dead Lands, Red Moon, and The Wilding

“Thomas builds his universe and its population with terse prose and dynamic, often horrifyingly visceral imagery that unspools with grand weirdness and intensity. Then he rips that universe apart, brick by bloody brick. Disintegration is provocative. It’s also damned fine noir.”
—Laird Barron, author of The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All and The Croning

“A sodden, stumbling anti-hero in a noir so dark it makes much of the rest of the genre seem like Disney movies by comparison. Gritty, obsessive, and compulsively readable.”
—Brian Evenson, author of Immobility and Windeye

Disintegration is gritty neo-noir; a psycho-sexual descent into an unhinged psyche and an underworld Chicago that could very well stand in for one of the rings of Dante’s Hell. Richard Thomas’ depraved-doomed-philosopher hitman is your guide. I suggest you do as he says and follow him, if you know what’s good for you.”
—Paul Tremblay, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and The Little Sleep

“In sharp, icy prose that cuts like a glacial wind, Richard Thomas’ dark Chicago tale keeps us absolutely riveted to the very end.”
—Donald Ray Pollock, author of The Devil All the Time and Knockemstiff

“Chasing Ghosts” out now in Cemetery Dance #72 – with Stephen King!

CD#72Okay, not only did my story, “Chasing Ghosts” come out in Cemetery Dance #72 today,
but guess who is in there with me? STEPHEN KING! This will be the THIRD time I’ve
published alongside him. What a thrill. Honored to be in here with SK, as well as
the rest of the authors.This has been a LONG time coming, a white whale I’ve been
chasing for years. I’m honored to be in here. And, my name on the cover, too!

Here’s the full table of contents:

Issue #72

Publication Date: January 2015
Cover Artist: Stacey Drum
Interior Artists: Chris Bankston, Mark Edwar Geyer, Stephen C. Gilberts,
Chris Odgers, Shane Smith, Luke Spooner
Page Count: 80

Fiction
“Summer Thunder” by Stephen King
“Incarnadine” by Norman Partridge
“The Cambion” by Stephen Bacon
“Barn Dance” by Tim Davis
“Chasing Ghosts” by Richard Thomas
“Anti-Theft” by Victorya Chase

Features
“The Zebra Interviews: Rick Hautala, Ronald Kelly,
and C. Dean Andersson” by Christopher Fulbright
“Feature Review: Revival by Stephen King” by Bev Vincent

The Usual Suspects
“Words from the Editor” by Richard Chizmar
“Stephen King News: From the Dead Zone” by Bev Vincent
“The Mothers and Fathers Italian Association” by Thomas F. Monteleone
“MediaDrome” by Michael Marano
“The Last 10 Books I’ve Read” by Ellen Datlow
“Fine Points” by Ed Gorman
“Spotlight on Publishing” by Robert Morrish
“Horror Drive-In” by Mark Sieber
“Cemetery Dance Reviews”

Cover reveal for Disintegration, my second novel (Random House Alibi) out in June of 2015

Disintegration_RTExcited to reveal the cover art for my second novel, Disintegration, out June 2, 2015 with Random House Alibi. It’s Dexter meets Falling Down, inspired by voices like Will Christopher Baer, Craig Clevenger, and Stephen Graham Jones. Hope you dig the art, here’s the full description from RHA:

In a brilliantly stylish breakthrough thriller for fans of Bret Easton Ellis’s American Psycho and Will Christopher Baer’s Kiss Me, Judas, here is the compelling tale of a man who has lost it all—and is now navigating a crooked, harrowing path to redemption.

Once a suburban husband and father, now the man has lost all sense of time. He retains only a few keepsakes of his former life: a handmade dining room table, an armoire and dresser from the bedroom, and a tape of the last message his wife ever left on their answering machine. These are memories of a man who no longer exists. Booze and an affair with a beautiful woman provide little relief, with the only meaning left in his life comes from his assignments. An envelope slipped under the door of his apartment with the name and address of an unpunished evildoer. The unspoken directive to kill. And every time he does, he marks the occasion with a memento: a tattoo. He has a lot of tattoos.

But into this unchanging existence seep unsettling questions. How much of what he feels and sees can he trust? How much is a lie designed to control him? He will risk his own life—and the lives of everyone around him—to find out.

Prose & Conversation: Richard Thomas & Leah Rhyne Talk About Books

TalkingSkulls.1-1024x685Here is the complete list of all of the Prose and Conversation columns that
Leah Rhyne and I have had over at LitReactor. Hope you enjoy them!

PROSE & CONVERSATION

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris – November 20th, 2014

Jesus’ Son by Denis Johnson – September 18th, 2014

Tampa by Alissa Nutting – June 30th, 2104

Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury – April 23rd, 2014

The Girl Next Door by Jack Ketchum – February 21st, 2014

Perdido Street Station by China Mieville – January 16th, 2014

The Shining & Dr. Sleep by Stephen King – December 5th, 2013

Curbside Splendor and Dark House Press named “Best Indie Book Publisher” by Chicago Magazine

 

In case you missed it, Curbside Splendor (and Dark House Press, which I run) were just named Chicago Magazine’s, “Best Indie Book Publisher.” Great article in the magazine, and online. Our three titles for the year, THE NEW BLACK, which I edited, ECHO LAKE by Letitia Trent, and AFTER THE PEOPLE LIGHTS HAVE GONE OFF by Stephen Graham Jones, are pictured in the story. Honored.

Up in 2015 is EXIGENCIES, another neo-noir anthology I’m editing (all new stories), the first book in the Joshua City Trilogy, THE DOORS YOU MARK ARE YOUR OWN by Okla Eliott and Raul Clement, and Vile Men by Rebecca Jones-Howe. 2016 will give us Steve Himmer’s SCRATCH. More news to come.

The New Black (Dark House Press) releases TODAY!

TNB_PRReleaseDay

Today is the official release date of THE NEW BLACK! This neo-noir anthology is the first I’ve ever edited and it’s also the first Dark House Press title. I’m honored that so many gifted authors were willing to be a part of this book. I can’t thank them enough for taking the time, and for supporting this title, and the press. It’s getting great reviews everywhere, too. If you’re thinking of picking up a copy, consider doing so today, so maybe we can push it up the charts. If this book does well, and Dark House Press succeeds, we can continue to publish the kind of neo-noir, speculative fiction that needs to be read and experienced. Foreword by Laird Barron, with stories by Brian Evenson, Stephen Graham Jones, Craig Clevenger, Paul Tremblay, Lindsay Hunter, Roxane Gay, Kyle Minor, Benjamin Percy, Roy Kesey, Craig Davidson, Matt Bell, Richard Lange, Micaela Morrissette, Joe Meno, Vanessa Veselka, Nik Korpon, Antonia Crane, Rebecca Jones-Howe, Tara Laskowski, and Craig Wallwork. There are also 15 interior illustrations by Luke Spooner of Carrion House. Feel free to share this news, and to spread the word. THANK YOU!

I’ve signed with Random House Alibi for TWO BOOKS.

BIG NEWS! I’m thrilled to announce that I’ve signed with Random House Alibi for a two-book deal. The first book is DISINTEGRATION—the second is still TBD. This will only be available in eBook format, to start. For those that know me, you’ve been hearing about this book for many (six?) years—a neo-noir transgressive thriller that is a mix of Dexter and Falling Down, the story of a man who sees his family die in a car crash right in front of him, and falls apart. I think it’s some of my best work to date. Special thanks to my agent, Paula Munier for supporting me, and believing in my voice, and this novel. I’m really excited to work with Dana Isaacson, my editor at RHA, as well—he’s been at Random House for many years, and has done a lot of great work for them. There is a target release date of May 2015. Thank you all of my friends and peers that kept telling me this book would find a home. That day has come.